A new level of discipline

I almost called this entry “Be careful what you pray for”.

I recently realized I needed to include daily writing in my regular routine. This is my prayer as I transition from Product Development Manager to Writer.

Shortly after that, I committed to something called 31 for 21 which calls for a daily blog entry in support of Down Syndrome Awareness. The first problem I ran into was b l o ga d d i c t i o n. In my first 2 weeks I had to learn to control my tendency to “immerse” in the blogging world – so entertaining, vast and diverse. Another problem was distilling parenting topics from life topics. It takes discipline to avoid chattering on this site in an effort to say something to support the daily blog commitment. The babbling, rambling, pointless, meandering, less focused posts are should be limited to my alternate site.

And what does this have to do with parenting? It is important to think before you speak. To consider timing and location. To consider audience. To consider relevance. To consider personal motivation. And to trust that those who should listen, will hear.

Blessings,